FELIXSTOWE MASTER MARINERS CLUB

Minutes of the 2025 Annual General Meeting Held at Felixstowe Ferry Sailing Club at 1100 hrs on 15th April, 2025

1. Apologies for absence were received from Rev Derek Brown, Lincoln Pratt, Malcolm Stafford

The meeting was attended by 13 members of the Club: Ian Buckle (chair), Timothy MacGuire, Adrian Scheele, Richard Palmer, Geoffrey Hartgrove, Bill Wright, Keith Derham, Peter Ashford, Goff Evans, Bruno Mennens, Derek Sands, Nigel Palmer, Tim Thompson

- **2.** The minutes of the AGM held on 19th March, 2024 and having been previously circulated, were accepted and approved unanimously after being *proposed by Timothy and seconded by Bill.*
 - 2.1 There were no matters arising from the minutes.
- 3. Club Captain's report: -

Club Captain Ian stated that he had completed one of the two years of his term and remarked that membership numbers were steady. Membership had been opened up but primarily to prospective new members that have a connection or interest in the sea. The change in caterers had been good and the food served is of excellent quality

- 4. **Staff Captain's report**: This post is vacant. Timothy MacGuire is filling in temporarily and wished that more members would step forward to assist in the running of the Club. No volunteers had stepped forward and this despite a circular email to the membership and a request for volunteers that was announced at the March meeting. Nothing other to report other than assisting with the microphone & laptop connections for the speaker.
- 5. Treasurer's report: The accounts for 2024 had been circulated to the membership with the AGM agenda. Nigel proposed the accounts be adopted and this was seconded by Bruno. It was unanimously agreed to give a vote of thanks to our auditor, David Cattermole.
- **6. Secretary's report:** After over 13 years, Tim Thompson is stepping down from the secretary's post and the meeting wished to record their thanks to him for all his past work.
- **7. Dining secretary's report**: Bruno reported that numbers attending our luncheons had held up quite well at the 51-52% of the membership level. The Sailing Club had taken the catering in house as they believed that it would be more profitable and all agreed that the food served had been excellent.

8. Election of Officers and Committee for the forthcoming year.

8.1 Election of Staff Captain: This post remains vacant.8.2 Tim Thompson resigns as secretary and Committee member and Timothy MacGuire has put himself forward for election as the new secretary. This was carried unanimously after being proposed by Bill and seconded by Adrian.

The other existing members of the Committee retire at the AGM and are eligible for re-election. They have all indicated their willingness to stand again and as no other nominations had been received, are proposed for re-election en bloc.

The following nominations were presented to the meeting: -

President Club Captain	Captain David Ingham Captain Ian Buckle
Treasurer	Malcolm Stafford
Secretary	Timothy MacGuire
Dining Secretary	Bruno Mennens
Recruitment & PR	Malcolm Stafford
Membership	Bill Wright
Web Captain	Captain Ian Buckle
Committee 1	Captain Nigel Palmer
Committee 2	Richard Palmer
Committee 3	Adrian Scheele
Committee 4	Captain Geoffrey Hartgrove

The above persons were duly voted and declared as Officers of the Club and Committee members for the forthcoming year.

- **9. Independent examiner of the accounts** for a period of one year Club Member David Cattermole has kindly agreed to continue as auditor in this capacity for which the meeting wished to record its thanks. Prop: Bruno, seconded by Nigel
- 10. Date of the next AGM: Tuesday 17th March 2026

The meeting closed at 1135 hrs.